Dr Ross Littlewood

Australia Day Honours in 2018 were awarded to opthamologists Dr Ross Littlewood (AM) and Dr Philip House (AM) for their work in Timor-Leste and his contribution to the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists. Dr Michael Stanford (AM), group CEO of St John of God Health Care, for his services to the health sector; Mr Geoffrey Churack (AM) was recognised for his philanthropic support for medical research; gynaecological oncologist Prof Ian Hammond (AM); Mr John Schaffer (AM) for his philanthropy and board work in health: Goldfields Aboriginal health worker Ms Annette Stokes (AM); Mr Winston Jones (AM) for work with the John Fawcett Foundation; Dr James Savundra (AM) for his work in plastic and reconstructive surgery; GP Dr Chin Tan (AM) for his service to the Chinese community of WA; Mr Ross Whiteman (AM) for service to people with Motor Neurone Disease.

Telethon Kids Institute and Curtin University have entered into a research affiliation agreement. It allows Telethon Kids Institute researchers to hold adjunct appointments at Curtin University and the university’s researchers to take up honorary appointments at Telethon Kids Institute.

The new health service boards had a turnover last year. Prof Diane Twigg and Dr Daniel Morrison have joined CAHS; Dr Denise Glennon, East Metropolitan; Prof Rhonda Marriott, North Metropolitan; and Dr Amanda Boudville, South Metropolitan. Prof Simon Towler (NMHS) and Andrew Thompson (CAHS) have departed while Dr Hannah Seymour (EMHS) and Prof Julie Quinlivan (SMHS) left their respective boards earlier last year.

Former Transport department boss Reece Waldock is the new chair of Lifeline WA.

Bethesda Health Care in Claremont is the first hospital in WA to have been awarded a WorkSafe Platinum status for the third time.

UWA and Telethon Kids Institute diabetes researcher Dr Vinutha Shetty is the 2017 recipient of the Type 1 Diabetes Clinical Research Network’s Mentored Clinician Researcher Fellowship Award.

Mr Andrew Hirst

Mr Andrew Hirst is the new CEO of the Motor Neurone Disease Association of WA.

Medical Director of the Statewide Obstetric Support Unit Dr Diane Mohen and retired Fremantle Hospital consultant Dr Dan O’Donnell were joint recipients of the Minister for Health’s Award. They were recognised particularly for their work championing rural and remote health and disadvantaged patients.

A $1.3m 360-degree scanner has been donated to Royal Perth Hospital but businessman Eddy Sariaatmadja.


No more articles