Neurologist and stroke physician at SCGH, Clinical Professor of Neurology at UWA and Medical Director of the Perron Institute for neurological and translational science, Prof David Blacker, has won the 2018 Award for Excellence in Stroke Care Delivery.

Dr Joanne Flynn has retired from the Medical Board of Australia and Prof Anne Tonkin, from South Australia, is the new chair. Prof Con Michael continues to be WA’s representative on the national board.

Former WA Chief Health Officer Prof Tarun Weeramanthri has won the Minister for Health award. He stepped down from his post earlier this year. He was instrumental in addressing water contamination issues to ensure the safe opening of the Perth Children’s Hospital, and was the driving force behind many achievements in public health including the passing of the Public Health Act 2016.

Prof Hugh Dawkins, Director of the Office of Population Health Genomics, Public and Aboriginal Health, will become HBF’s first Chief Health Adviser at the end of 2018.

Chief Scientist Prof Peter Klinken will chair both the Lotterywest and Healthway boards, which already have some common directors.

A new four-chair renal facility at the Mawarnkarra Health Service in Roebourne has opened.

A new chair of child health, known as The Kerry M Stokes Chair of Child Health, will be established at Curtin University with the support of the Telethon Trust and the Telethon Kids Institute.

No more articles