Prof Wendy Erber, Dr Kathryn Fuller and Henry Hui (pictured) from UWA have won the Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology. They developed an automated method for rapid detection of lymphocytic leukaemia known as the Immuno-flowFISH. Wendy, who is also Executive Dean of Health and Medical Sciences, said the team would now expand the test so it can be applied to other types of leukaemia and cancers.

Dr Aaron Simpson replaces Dr Sydney Sacks as Clinipath’s Head of Biochemistry.

The WA Department of Health has awarded Baxter Healthcare a $4.9 million tender for an infection prevention and control (IPAC) system across multiple sites – Gascoyne, Goldfields/Esperance, Kimberley, Mid-West, Peel, Perth Metro, Pilbara, South West and Wheatbelt.

Dean of the Notre Dame medical school Prof Gervase Chaney has joined the board of the Stan Perron Charitable Foundation.

After 25 years at the helm of Anglicare, Ian Carter will be stepping down on June 30 2019.

Health World Pharmaceuticals, UWA’s Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences and Proteomics International are finalists in the WA Industry and Export Awards.

No more articles