Dr Lachlan Henderson who was CEO of St John of God Subiaco and Executive Director, Perth Northern Hospitals (Midland Public and Private, Mt Lawley and Wembley Day Surgery) will leave WA to take up the position of group CEO of Epworth Health Care in Victoria.

Dr Neale Fong has been elected national president of the Australasian College of Health Service Management (ACHSM). He is currently WA president.

Chief Operating Officer Care for the St Ives Group Michelle de Ronchi has been appointed to the inaugural board for Leading Aged Services Australia (LASA), which is the national peak body representing all age service providers.

201612-Goldblatt-Jack-Prof-awards Nov16Prof Jack GoldblattPioneer of genetic services in WA Prof Jack Goldblatt has won the 2016 Minister for Health Award. Prof Goldblatt, who is retiring this year after 27 years leading the WA Health’s genetic services team. Also at the WA Health Awards, Rockingham General Hospital was recognised for its clinical engagement project and Solaris Care for its consumer and community engagement project. WACHS WA Trachoma program in the Goldfields was acknowledged and the East Metropolitan Health Service, Royal Perth Hospital and the Home Intravenous Antibiotics Service took out the category of out-of-hospital health care.

Profs Eric Visser (University of Notre Dame) and Peter Drummond and A/Prof Philip Finch (both from Murdoch University) have received a $100,000 grand for a research program into chronic pain management from the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaethetists.

The WA Government has awarded Broadspectrum a $235.8 million contract previously held by Serco to provide security and custodial services in the state.

UWA student Richard O’Halloran is a 2017 Rhodes Scholar. He will study for a Masters in Global Health Sciences and a Masters in Public Policy at Oxford University. He will focus on improving health systems in rural and remote areas.

The Lions Eye Institute and UWA’s Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science has been awarded $3.5m in two NHMRC grants. A team led by Prof David Mackey is developing treatments to target genetic eye diseases. Prof Dao-Yi Yu, Prof Stephen Cringle and Prof William Morgan will use their grant to develop new glaucoma surgery for clinical use and commercialisation.

Ronan O’Connor, who worked with Australian Digital Health Agency (ADHA) CEO Tim Kelsey at the NHS England, has been appointed executive general manager of ADHA’s Core Systems Operations division, which will oversee the functioning of the My Health Record system.

Researchers at UWA’s Centre for Respiratory Heath are among a group of Australian scientists awarded $2.5 million by the NHMRC to support work into lung fibrosis. Prof Geoff Laurent and A/Prof Yuben Moodley, are members of a multi-disciplinary national consortium.

Shane Solomon, the inaugural head and driving force behind Telstra’s healthcare division, will retire as managing director in February. He will continue as an advisor to Telstra on the delivery of the National Cancer Screening Register and as chair of the project control board.

201612-Constable-Ian-Prof Oct16Prof Ian ConstableUWA has created a new chair to recognise Prof Ian Constable’s contribution to ophthalmology. The Ian Constable Chair in Discovery and Translational Ophthalmic Science is being established with the financial support of the Australian Foundation for the Prevention of Blindness (AFPB) and private donations and will be based at the Lions Eye Institute.

Linear Clinical Research won the Business Services Award at the 2016 WA Industry and Exports Award.

The philanthropy category of Research Australia’s national awards was won by the McCusker Charitable Foundation for giving $50 million to a diverse range of health and medical projects in WA.



No more articles