Mr Denys Pearce, Former Managing Director of wealth-management company Plan B, has been appointed as the new Chief Executive Officer of the Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation, the hospital’s primary funding organisation.

Dr Martin Blake has replaced Dr Stewart Washer as Chairman of the Board of Resonance Health. Dr Washer said his resignation was due to increased work commitments. Ms Eva O’Malley has also resigned from her position as the board’s CFO and Company Secretary.

RACGP life member Dr Scott Blackwell has recently been appointed president of the national peak body Palliative Care Australia.

beneath_the_drapes_new_imagePaediatricians Dr Michael Slattery and Dr Charles Crompton were recognised as St John of God Hospital Murdoch’s Doctors of the Year for 2010.

Genzyme Australasia has appointed Mr Robert Hendriks as Managing Director following the departure of Dan Brown to the US.

Silver Chain has welcomed Mr Mark Cockayne as its new Director of Hospice Care Service.

John Fawcett travelled to Perth in November to receive the prestigious Bishop Hale Medal. This award is presented at the end of each year to former students of Hale School ‘recognising unselfish devotion to duty, exemplifying Bishop Hale’s philosophy of voluntary service to and in the community’.

Curtin Prof of Public Health and Mindarie Medical Centre GP, Dr Colin Binns, was awarded the 2010 Research Australia Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of the support he has given to health policy, practice and medical research.

The Fremantle Hospital Pain Medicine Unit won the 2010 Health Awards – Hospitals. This is in recognition of its innovative Self-training Educative Pain Sessions (STEPS) program, which was featured in Medical Forum.

Western Australian Chief Scientist Professor Lyn Beazley has been reappointed for 2011.

No more articles