Prof Ian Puddey, Dean of UWA’s Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at UWA for the past 10 years, is retiring. Prof Geoff Riley is acting Dean until June 30 when the new appointment, to be announced, takes over the chair.

Otolaryngologist Dr Stuart Miller has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Australia Day honours list as has health consumer advocate Ms Anne McKenzie. Mr Robert Dunn, who is the Immediate Past President of Spine and Limb Foundation was awarded a Medal of of the Order of Australia (AOM). Ms Gail Milner was awarded a Public Service Medal for her work in health reform at WA Health.

Ms Pip Brennan is the new Executive Director of the Health Consumers Council. The acting ED, Mr Martin Whitely is now a senior advocate at HCC.

Mental Health Commissioner Mr Tim Marney is chair of the advisory board of the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre.

Ms Zoe McAlpine is the new CEO at Breast Cancer Care WA.

Ms Liza Dunne has resigned as MD from Resonance Health after 11 years. A replacement is yet to be appointed.

In other news from Resonance Health, it won the WA Innovator of the Year award for developing its HepaFat-Scan technology which uses MRI to measure the level of fat in a person’s liver.

Woodside Petroleum director and chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Insurance Commission of WA Mr Frank Cooper has been appointed a trustee of St John of God Health Care. Melbourne-based former medical practitioner turned consultant

Dr Julie Caldecott has been appointed to the SJGHC board.

Dr Robert Marshall has been awarded a Postgraduate Fulbright Scholarship. The former national President of AMSA and active JMO, Rob is currently doing his physicians training at the Royal Darwin Hospital.

Telethon Kids Institute’s Dr Thomas Snelling, has been appointed to the Pharmaceutical Benefits Committee along with former RACGP president NSW GP Dr Liz Marles.

Prof Graeme Hankey is the 2015 recipient of the prestigious David G. Sherman Lecture Award, a lecture he will deliver at the International Stroke Conference in Nashville in the US.


p class=”MsoNormal” style=”margin-bottom: 6.0pt;”>Melbourne researcher Prof Anne Kelso is the new CEO of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC). She succeeds Prof Warwick Anderson.

No more articles