Mr Sam Di-Giacomo has been appointed Non-executive Director for Rockeby Biomed Ltd following the resignation of Mr John Warmington.

Reso­nance Health Ltd has appointed Dr Gary Pace as Chairman and James Williams as Company Secretary. The company also announced the appointment of Mr Roger Greene, Mr Michael Dalsin, and Mr Guy Aird as Non-executive Directors, while Dr Michael Wooldridge has become Deputy Chairman. Mr Ian Anderson and Dr Andrew Walker remain as non-Executive Directors. Resonance Health recently signed a non-binding letter of intent for the acquisition of an anatomical pathology business based in the US.

Medical historian and retired WA GP Dr Jim Leavesley has been awarded an honorary doctorate from WA's Murdoch University in recognition of his "exceptional achievements" in medical literature.

Prof Ian Constable was awarded the Anzac Peace Prize for 2006. The award is to ‘recognise any outstanding effort by an Australian citizen who has promoted the concept of international understanding and who, in so doing, has made a contribution to world peace.'

Ms Tammy Batton has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer and Director of Nursing at the St John of God Health Care Geraldton hospital. The hospital's previous CEO, Kim Snowball, has commenced a new position as Group Director Social Outreach and Advocacy.

Mr David Reikie has resigned as Chairman for Unilife Medical Solutions.

Former Wesfarmers executive Mr Bob Denby and Empired co-founder Mr Justin Miller have teamed up to commercialise Sensear, a Western Australian invention that tackles hearing loss.

Sydney-based supplier of incontinence and wound care products Paul Hartmann Pty Ltd has acquired the Perth Surgical Supply Company.

Solbec has appointed Dr Graeme Howie as Managing Director. He has previously worked at Delta West Pharmacia and Upjohn, and has 28 years experience in the development and commercialisation of pharmaceuticals. To December 2004 he was a senior product development officer with Pfizer in New York.

Hollywood Hospital Director of Clinical Services Ms Nola Cruickshank has received the RCNA (WA Chapter) & Office of Chief Nursing Officer Annual Award for her outstanding contribution to the Royal College of Nursing.

Clinical Cell Culture Ltd (C3) has appointed Mr Bob Atwill as its new Chief Executive Officer and a Director. Mr Atwill has broad international experience in the pharmaceutical, medical device, and medical services sectors, and will be based in Canberra. However, he will split his time between Australia and C3's operational headquarters in the UK. C3's Chief Financial Officer Mr Andrew Cannon also joins the Board.

Ramsay Health Care will roll out a multi-million dollar integrated patient administration system that allows real-time information sharing and collection across its 69 hospitals and 6,500 inpatient beds following a deal with Meditech Australia.

The State Government has committed $15 million to upgrade facilities, improve clinical services, and recruit extra nurses at Princess Margaret Hospital.

No more articles