Beneath the Drapes

07062017-837-Disability-Support-AwardsLeft to right: Chris Black, Nadia Bamasri and Disability Services Minister Stephen DawsonBlack Swan Health took out two awards at the 2017 WA Disability Support Awards. Chris Black and Nadia Bamasri (pictured with Disability Services Minister Stephen Dawson) won the Excellence in Advocacy and Rights Promotion Award as well as the Overall Award for Excellence.

07062017-Dwivedi-Girish-Prof May17Prof Girish DwivediProf Girish Dwivedi (pictured) is the first incumbent of the Wesfarmers Chair in Cardiovascular Disease at the Perkins Institute.

 Winners of the Health Consumers Council awards include: Physiotherapist Ellie Newman, who specialises in aged care, won the Health Professional Award. Finalists in the category included Clin A/Prof Tim Bates and chemo@home’s Lorna Cook, Dr Lee Jackson and Dr Aesen Thambiran. The Health Organisation Award was won by Moorditj Djena, a diabetes education and podiatry service for Aboriginal people. Bentley Mental Health Services and ConnectGroups were finalists. The Health Consumer Award was won by Carolyn Chisholm who created a support group for women permanently injured by transvaginal mesh devices.

WA-Based John of God Health Care has brought the Marillac disability service in Victoria. Marillac will be operated by SJGHC’s disability service St John of God Accord.

UWA’s Prof Ryan Lister is one of 41 scientists worldwide to be appointed an International Research Scholar by the US-based Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI).

Ms Nadine Magill has preplaced Ms Catre Harman as WA State Manager of the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia.

Ms Janina Faulkner, a volunteer with miscarriage, stillbirth and newborn death charity, Sands Australia is inaugural recipient of the organisation’s Jenny Miolin Volunteer Award.

Former Ngala CEO Mr Ashley Reid is the new CEO of Cancer Council WA replacing Ms Susan Rooney who has taken up the CEO’s job at St Vincent de Paul Society WA.

Disability services provider Rocky Bay has appointed Martin Wandmaker and Richard Diermajer to its board.

Amanda Hunt has been appointed CEO of UnitingCare West.

The RACGP has been awarded the international Jive Digital Transformation Award for its shareGP platform for which encourages secure online collaboration between GPs.

The Sarich Neuroscience Research Institute has opened at the QEII Medical Centre today. The $37.7m facility will house the Ear Science Institute Australia, Curtin University’s Neuroscience Research Laboratory, the Perron Institute for Translational and Neuroscience Research and the Australian Alzheimer’s Research Foundation. Ralph and Patricia Sarich donated $20 million to the project.





No more articles