Dr David Brookes has been appointed as Chairman of biotech Living Cell Technologies, replacing Simon O’Loughlin. Bob Finder (Chairman of Labtech Systems) and David McAuliffe (founder of NeuroDiscovery) have also been appointed to the board.

The Multiple Sclerosis Society of WA has appointed John Senczuk as Executive Producer Events.

Jasmin Flori-Hass has been appointed RACGP WA Faculty Education Officer while Rachel Patterson is on 12 months maternity leave.

Tony Spezzacatena has been named the new Chief Financial Officer for the Western Australian Institute for Medical Research (WAIMR). John Fitzgerald has been appointed Director of Operations.

Local boys Professor Teik Oh and Dr Richard Riley both took out first prizes at the recent 2009 British Medical Association book competition. Teik (Director Medical Services at Mercy Hospital) won in the anaesthesia division for his Intensive Care Manual (sixth edition), while Richard (an anaesthetist at RPH) won for his Manual of Simulation in Healthcare in the Basis of Medicine division.

Burswood-based Aegis Aged Care Group has increased its hold on the number one position in the sector in WA with the purchase of six new facilities, increasing its number of beds from about 1,300 to more than 2,100.

Moora Health Centre, Moora, has been named the winner of the RACGP’s 2009 West Australian General Practice of the Year Award.

Excellence in WA mental health programs and service delivery was recognised at the 2009 Mental Health Good Outcomes Awards. Youth Focus, a Western Australian community-based organisation, won the Dr Mark Rooney Award for Improved Outcomes in Child and Adolescent Mental Health.

Fremantle GP Network was the winner of the Non-government Organisation (not-for-profit and private) Award, sponsored by St John of God Health Care, in the Mental Health Good Outcomes Awards.

WA GP Dr Olga Ward received the Brian Williams Award for 2009. The Brian Williams Award was created in 2006 and is conferred by the National Rural Faculty on a member of the RACGP recognised for making a significant contribution to the personal and professional welfare of rural doctors.

No more articles