Dr Rebekah Adams, from Broome, has won this year’s RACGP General Practice Registrar of the Year Award. Rebekah works at the Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Council and the Rural Clinical School.

Orthopaedic surgeon Dr Graham Forward was awarded a John Curtin Medal to honour his humanitarian efforts in the Horn of Africa. Graham organised emergency aid in Somalia after the 2004 tsunami disaster and has since established Australian Doctors for Africa (ADFA) to provide much-needed medical services to Ethiopia, Madagascar and Somalia.

Professor William Carroll has been appointed First Vice President of the World Federation of Neurologists (WFN). He is based at SCGH and has been researching multiple sclerosis for the past 15 years.

Nominations for the 2014 Rural Health West Doctors’ Service Awards have opened. Two additional awards, sponsored by WACHS, provide specific recognition for hospital doctors and those who have contributed to their local community. Nomination forms at They close on January 25.

Ms Suzanne Abercrombie has been appointed Director of Finance at the SJGHC Midland public and private hospitals. She was previously with SJGHC at its Subiaco hospital.

The WAIMR will be re-named the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research after the inaugural chairman of the institute. The new name will come in effect early next year when the institute moves to its new premises in Nedlands.

Mr Andrew York has been appointed GM of operations at the Leukaemia Foundation, He was formerly GM at People who Care and positions at Bethanie Community Care and Derbayl Yerrigan Health Service.



No more articles