Dr Tim Koh is the new chair of the WA chapter of the RACGP. Dr Sean Stevens is deputy chair.

Prof Mark Everard is the new co-lead for the Respiratory Health Network. He replaces outgoing lead Prof Stephen Stick.

Mental Health Week last month recognised the work of UWA’s Prof Osvaldo Almeida, who won the GESB Award for improved outcomes in Seniors Mental Health. The Wheatbelt GP Network was recognised for its work with Aboriginal communities.

The State Government has committed $750,000 to the Busselton Health Study over the next three years. The study has been going since 1966 and has involved more than 25,000 people.
Linear Clinical Research, the commercial arm of the Harry Perkins Institute was again a finalist in the WA Industry and Export Awards.


Fulham Medical Centre was announced WAGPET Training Practice of the Year 2013 at the recent awards night. Dr Elaine Lee is GP Registrar of the Year and Dr Andrea Gomes took out the Prevocational Community Medicine Award.

RACGP WA faculty chair A/Prof Frank Jones has been appointed Vice-President of the RACGP.

Curtin University’s Professor Gill Lewin has been awarded the 2013 Council on the Ageing (COTA) Western Australia Champion for Seniors Award.

MDA National’s CEO, Mr Peter Forbes, announced at the AGM in November that he would retire in June. Also announcing their retirement from the board were West Australian A/Prof David Watson and Prof Guy Van Hazel.

Ms Jenni Perkins will act as the Commissioner for Children and Young People for the next 12 months, following Ms Michelle Scott’s departure.

Orthopaedic surgeon Dr Michael Halliday was named St John of God Murdoch Hospital’s Doctor of the Year for 2013.

Fiona Stanley Hospital appointments

Dr Gavin Coppinger is Medical Co-Director Service 2; Dr John Keenan is Deputy Director Clinical Services ; Dr Matthew Wright is Head of Haematology; Prof John Olynyk is Head of Gastroenterology; Prof David Fletcher is Head of General Surgery; Dr Annette McWilliams is Head of Respiratory Medicine; Dr Stephen Fenner is Head of Psychiatry; Dr Mark Monaghan is Head of Emergency; Dr Janine Spencer is Head of Paediatric Medicine; Dr Gargeswari Sunanda is Head of Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr Alex Swann is Head of Anaesthetics; Prof Gareth Prosser and Prof Piers Yates are co-heads of Orthopaedic Surgery; Prof Michael Stacey is Head of Vascular Surgery; Dr Stephen Wright is Head of General Medicine.

Normal 0 false false false EN-AU X-NONE X-NONE

No more articles