Dr Lionel Wilson AM recently passed away. Lionel was AMA President from 1979-1982, former chair of the World Medical Association, former chair of the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards, and a RACGP Life Member. He will be remembered for his contribution to improving standards for health care in Australia and abroad.

Mr Rob Bransby, HBF's group general manager, has been announced as HBF's new CEO-elect, replacing Mr Mike Gurry when he steps down within the next 12 months.

One day after resigning as CEO of water and power company Solco, Mr Dermot Patterson has taken up the post of chief executive of Eastland Medical Services from retiring CEO and managing director Mr Don O'Sullivan.

Mr Chris Carter, former CEO of the Perth and Hills division of General Practice, has taken up the role of CEO of the State GP Network.

Dr Sean Stevens of WAGPET WA has been awarded the GPET Supervisor of the Year.

Mr Graham Melrose, Chemeq founder and former chairman, has announced his retirement from the board after 17 years with the company.

Mr Bruce Gray, former Lions Cancer Institute medical director has quit as chair of cancer treatment developer Sirtex Medical Ltd, after the company sought a cross-claim against him in an upcoming Federal Court action.

Mr Barry Catchlove has resigned as a director of Pearl Healthcare.

Messrs Malcolm Cole, Adrian Loader, and Ray Steedman had become non-executive directors of Advance Healthcare Group Ltd. Messrs Alex Bajada and Chris Denz have resigned from the board.

Mr Simon Carroll has taken up the role of managing director and CEO of Advanced Ocular Systems following the resignation of Mr Ken Taylor. Executive chairman Mr Tony Fitzgerald has also stepped down.

Medec Ltd has appointed Siva Rajah as a non-executive director.

Mr Bill Nicklin has taken over from Mr Rupert Northcott as Ritract Ltd CEO. Mr Northcott remains on the company's board.

Mr Timothy St Pierre has been appointed as a director of Resonance Health.

Mr John Ries has resigned as non-executive director of IM Medical.

Ms Heather Zampatti has resigned as non-executive director of pSivida.

Dr Peter Maguire has been elected as new Chair of the RACGP WA Faculty. Peter steps into the shoes worn by retiring chair and now national President-elect Dr Vasantha Preetham. Other new faculty board members are Professor Max Kamien (Provost), Dr Frank Jones (Deputy Chair), Dr Colleen Bradford (Honorary Secretary), Dr Sam Bada (Honorary Treasurer), Dr Darian Sharp (State Censor), and members Dr Janice Bell, Dr Tom Brett, Professor Jon Emery, Dr Abby Harwood, Dr Tim Koh, Dr Derrick Kuan, Dr Anna Parker, Dr Shiong Tan, Dr Peter Wallace, and associate member Dr Ritthy Sovan.

No more articles