Former MLA Dr Martin Whitely is acting executive director of the Health Consumers Council of WA, replacing Mr Frank Prokop.

Dr Alexius Julian is the Clinical lead of ICT Commissioning at Fiona Stanley Hospital.

Sixteen projects will share $3m in the second round of Telethon-Perth Children’s Hospital Research Fund grants. A/Prof Christopher Blyth, Prof Jack Goldblatt, Dr Nicholas Gottardo, Dr Rae-Chi Huang, Prof Peter Le Souef, Dr Andrew Martin, Prof Susan Prescott and Dr Claire Waddington were among the medical practitioners to receive funds for their various short-term research projects.

Asthma Foundation WA (AFWA) awarded $5m in grants for respiratory research: A/Prof Alexander Larcombe and A/Prof Benjamin Mullins (UWA); Dr Shelley Gorman and A/Prof Vance Matthews (UWA); Prof Peter Henry, Ms Tracy Mann and Prof Philip Burcham (UWA); Dr Kimberley Wang with Prof Peter Noble supervising (UWA) and Ms Robyn Jones with Prof Alan James supervising (SCGH).

The Mental Health Commission has awarded a $98,000 contract to Sankey Associates to conduct an evaluation of the Mental Health Court Diversion and Support Program.

Former entertainer and Perth City Councillor Mr Max Kay and businessman Mr Michael Weir have been appointed to the board of Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia (WA).

Dr Stuart Boland is the new president of Australian Senior Active Doctors Association (ASADA) replacing Dr Simon Strauss who will stay on the Executive and continue as website and newsletter editor. Stuart is former chairman of Avant.





Fulham Medical Centre was announced WAGPET Training Practice of the Year 2013 at the recent awards night. Dr Elaine Lee is GP Registrar of the Year and Dr Andrea Gomes took out the Prevocational Community Medicine Award.

RACGP WA faculty chair A/Prof Frank Jones has been appointed Vice-President of the RACGP.

Curtin University’s Professor Gill Lewin has been awarded the 2013 Council on the Ageing (COTA) Western Australia Champion for Seniors Award.

MDA National’s CEO, Mr Peter Forbes, announced at the AGM in November that he would retire in June. Also announcing their retirement from the board were West Australian A/Prof David Watson and Prof Guy Van Hazel.

Ms Jenni Perkins will act as the Commissioner for Children and Young People for the next 12 months, following Ms Michelle Scott’s departure.

Orthopaedic surgeon Dr Michael Halliday was named St John of God Murdoch Hospital’s Doctor of the Year for 2013.

Fiona Stanley Hospital appointments

Dr Gavin Coppinger is Medical Co-Director Service 2; Dr John Keenan is Deputy Director Clinical Services ; Dr Matthew Wright is Head of Haematology; Prof John Olynyk is Head of Gastroenterology; Prof David Fletcher is Head of General Surgery; Dr Annette McWilliams is Head of Respiratory Medicine; Dr Stephen Fenner is Head of Psychiatry; Dr Mark Monaghan is Head of Emergency; Dr Janine Spencer is Head of Paediatric Medicine; Dr Gargeswari Sunanda is Head of Obstetrics and Gynaecology; Dr Alex Swann is Head of Anaesthetics; Prof Gareth Prosser and Prof Piers Yates are co-heads of Orthopaedic Surgery; Prof Michael Stacey is Head of Vascular Surgery; Dr Stephen Wright is Head of General Medicine.

Normal 0 false false false EN-AU X-NONE X-NONE

No more articles